No doubt about it: more and more people are becoming vegan and more and more vegans are enquiring about our wines.
The answer is in the fining agent.
In the past the most commonly used fining agents included casein (a milk protein), albumin (egg white), gelatine (animal protein) and isinglass (fish bladder protein). These fining agents are not additives since they are precipitated out along with the haze molecules, however tiny traces may be absorbed by the wine during the fining process. Wines fined with these agents are therefore not vegan-friendly.
The good news for vegans is that we at Overhex use clay-based and natural plant proteins agents which are highly efficient at fining out unwanted proteins. Our fresh and flavourful wines are therefore the natural vegan choice.